Behind the Global Rape Epidemic

Al Jazeera: The Global Rape Epidemic

From the interview with professor Farid Essack:

“When I am in a relationship of control over somebody – if I have my feet on your neck, or my hands around your throat, I cannot be free. I can’t be free to enjoy life, I can’t be free to be who I am, or to enjoy the sunshine, I can’t enjoy anything, because I am in a relationship of control. When I remove my feet from your neck, or my hands from your throat, I become liberated.”

In relationships of domination, neither the one who is dominated nor the one who dominates is free.

Leave a Reply

